Meeting Archive:
Broadband Basics for Public Libraries

View the recording and presentation by clicking the links to the right. View previously recorded TechSoup webinars here.
 
Resources discussed during today's session are available on the TechSoup for Libraries blog.

If you would like a transcript of the recording, email webinars@techsoupglobal.org

 

 

Meeting Description:

Wish you knew more about the basics of broadband, but you don't know who to ask? This beginner level webinar will introduce you to terms, tools, and concepts that will help increase your understanding.

Join us for this free webinar on Tuesday, January 15 at 11 a.m. Pacific time/noon Mountain time/1 p.m. Central time/2 p.m. Eastern time. We will be joined by special guest, library consultant Kieran Hixon.

Topics will include:

  • What is the difference between the various types of broadband connections?
  • What do Mbps and Kbps really mean?
  • How much speed does your library need?
  • What's the difference between download and upload speeds? Why does it matter?
  • How can I learn more about broadband?
  • How can I talk to others about the need for broadband at the library?
  • Plus, lots of time for questions from participants
This webinar is part of a series of webinars exploring the Edge Initiative Benchmarks. Benchmark 12 states: Libraries have sufficient devices and bandwidth to accommodate user demand.

Please contact webinars@techsoupglobal.org with accessibility requests 72 hours before the event.

Details
Date: Tue, Jan 15, 2013
Time: 11:00 AM PST
Duration: 1 hour
Host(s): Brenda Hough
Downloadable Files
 Presenter Information
Kieran Hixon
Speaker Photo

Kieran is passionate about rural libraries. His focus has been on open-source software and low-cost tech solutions for small, rural libraries. He is excited to be an errant librarian on the edges of the digital divide. He is known for his high energy and humor, and isn't sure if it is a good thing or a bad thing. He lives on forty acres with 7 adults, 1 child, 7 dogs, 9 chickens,  2 turkeys and myriad feral cats.

Brenda Hough
Speaker Photo

Brenda has been a librarian for more than 15 years. She has delivered training and education for the Northeast Kansas Library System, the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, WebJunction, the Public Library Association, Emporia State University, UIUC's Certified Public Library Administrator program, and more. When she's not thinking about libraries and learning, she's spending time with her husband and two year old son at their home in Lawrence, Kansas.