Meeting Archive:
Helping People Find Good Health Information Online

View the recording and presentation by clicking the links to the right. View previously recorded TechSoup webinars here.
 
Resources discussed during today's session are available on the TechSoup for Libraries blog.

If you would like a transcript of the recording, email webinars@techsoupglobal.org

 

 

Meeting Description:
According to a recent Pew report, 59% of US adults say they have looked online for health information in the past year. How can libraries help guide people to quality online medical information? Join this session to learn more!
 
The presenter for this session is Dana Abbey, who is a Health Information Literacy Coordinator for the National Network of Libraries of Medicine.  She will overview MedlinePlus, a free online resource produced by the National Library of Medicine. It provides information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues. She will also share tips and techniques to help libraries provide health information assistance to patrons.
 
This free webinar is scheduled for Wednesday, April 17th at 11 a.m. Pacific time/noon Mountain time/1 p.m. Central time/2 p.m. Eastern time.
 
This webinar is part of a series of webinars exploring the Edge Initiative Benchmarks, specifically Benchmark 3, which includes: The library supports use of public technology for health and wellness purposes.

Please contact webinars@techsoupglobal.org with accessibility requests 4 days before the event.

Details
Date: Wed, Apr 17, 2013
Time: 11:00 AM PDT
Duration: 1 hour
Host(s): Brenda Hough
 Presenter Information
Dana Abbey
Speaker Photo

A Colorado native, Dana Abbey has a background in public libraries, library consultation, and prescription drug monitoring. In her current role as the Health Information Literacy Coordinator for the National Network of Libraries of Medicine, MidContinental region, Dana works to improve the public's access to information to enable them to make informed decisions about their health.

Brenda Hough
Speaker Photo

Brenda has been a librarian for more than 15 years. She has delivered training and education for the Northeast Kansas Library System, the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, WebJunction, the Public Library Association, Emporia State University, UIUC's Certified Public Library Administrator program, and more. When she's not thinking about libraries and learning, she's spending time with her husband and three year old son at their home in Lawrence, Kansas.