Meeting Archive:
Tech on the Spec(trum): Making libraries more accessible for children with special needs

View the recording, notes from the chat, and presentation slides by clicking the links to the right. View previously recorded TechSoup webinars here.
 
Resources discussed during today's session are available on the TechSoup for Libraries blog.

If you would like a transcript of the recording, email webinars@techsoupglobal.org

 

 

Meeting Description:
Like any worthwhile initiative, reaching a target audience takes time and money. Is there an affordable way to make your library more technologically accessible for children with autism and other developmental differences? Join this session to learn about the successful "Come On In" program at Skokie (IL) Public Library. Hear about free and inexpensive tools. Think about ways to partner with other organizations to meet patron and staff needs.
 
This free webinar is scheduled for Tuesday, March 26 at 11 a.m. Pacific time/noon Mountain time/1 p.m. Central time/2 p.m. Eastern time. The presenter for the session is Holly Jin with the Skokie (IL) Public Library.
 
This webinar is part of a series of webinars exploring the Edge Initiative Benchmarks, specifically Benchmark 11, which states: Libraries ensure participation in digital technology for people with disabilities

Please contact webinars@techsoupglobal.org with accessibility requests 4 days before the event.

Details
Date: Tue, Mar 26, 2013
Time: 11:00 AM PDT
Duration: 1 hour
Host(s): Brenda Hough
 Presenter Information
Holly Jin
Speaker Photo

Holly Jin is a Youth Services Librarian at the IMLS Award winning Skokie (IL) Public Library. Her outreach to patrons with special needs began in 2004 with the writing of an LSTA grant entitled: “Come On In: the Library is a special place for children with disabilities.”  Since that time, she has coordinated the Library’s special needs services and served as a resource to other libraries in the Chicagoland area. Holly is involved in ALSC and is looking forward to meeting webinar participants at the ALA Annual conference in Chicago this June.

Brenda Hough
Speaker Photo

Brenda has been a librarian for more than 15 years. She has delivered training and education for the Northeast Kansas Library System, the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, WebJunction, the Public Library Association, Emporia State University, UIUC's Certified Public Library Administrator program, and more. When she's not thinking about libraries and learning, she's spending time with her husband and two year old son at their home in Lawrence, Kansas.